Foodie Newbie

Standard

“We all die.  The goal isn’t to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.”

I have always had a slight obsession with food; the dynamic of food and the body.  While I always understood what healthy was, I never fully embraced eating healthy in my day-to-day.  As I reflect back, my definition of healthy was not entirely accurate.  I used to define healthy as low-fat, low-calorie, low sodium, etc.  Either way, I always succumbed to emotional lows.  It was not a healthy relationship.  As I’ve gotten older, okay just since I turned 26, I began to better define what healthy meant to me.  My feelings are that healthy is simple.  It is nourishment for the body.  Whole, nutrient-rich foods that are digested the way our bodies were intended.  Nourishment that is void of additives, preservatives, chemicals and fertilizers.  It does not mean a 100 calorie pack of cookies or crackers, a hormone dense chicken breast and chemically enhanced broccoli.

I realize many, upon many, of people are already here.  They get it.  They’ve gotten it for a long time.  Eating local, organic, sustainable food is something that has been established as their daily living practice.  I on the other hand, can only say that I’ve arrived at this place within the last few months.    Although aware, I still find myself ordering pizza on a Friday night or running through McDonald’s when money is tight and I just need a dollar hunger fix.  I understand how hard it can be to implement into our fast paced lives.

I hope this blog is for those who are where I am or maybe not yet to this place.  I have to imagine that others are on a similar journey as this alternative (hate this word and that this is considered the ‘alternative’) method of living becomes more mainstream.  I will share my new comings through this journey with you.  For those of you that have already implemented this goodness in your life and happen to stumble upon me, I apologize in advance.  I am not trying to act as any type of authority.  Perhaps you could offer your experiences or knowledge and get a laugh or two in return.

I am learning this world is bigger than you or I.  We have a responsibility to ourselves, our families, the earth, animals and hopefully future descendents of all the aforementioned.

I am hopeful that by implementing small changes, the sum may amount to something that may just live on forever.

Leave a Reply

